hentai
When's Melty on Steam?
ahaha that's no--wait, what?

Author Topic: Looking into buying a stick~  (Read 7162 times)

Offline dakanya

• Magus
  • Magic Circuits: 31
    • View Profile
Looking into buying a stick~
« on: May 01, 2007, 07:23:04 PM »
I'm new to fighting games altogether and I started out on MBR:FT and I still use a keyboard. I've tried a pad but I don't really like it (TK236 with Akiha) and after a while, I've decided I want to play Melty Blood at a high level. So pretty much I dunno anything about sticks and I want to hear some opinions. I've done some research and apparently I should be getting a stick made with Sanwa parts as that's what most arcades use.

I'm not really interested in making my own stick and I've heard that retail sticks only last so long (up to around a year?) and that well built custom sticks can last for 3 to 4 years. Looking for some advice and experience here and if you could point me to some reliable stick makers, that'd be awesome. Thanks for your time!
thundering waterfalls

Offline Sp00ky

• Melty Pancake
  • Magic Circuits: 46
    • View Profile
    • Team Spooky
Re: Looking into buying a stick~
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 08:13:50 PM »
My advice is to stick with the most common japanese arcade stick used on real cabinets which is the sanwa jlf and sanwa buttons, at least until you are more experienced and want to change. most people never change from this stick type though, only people who specialize i ncertain stick types will choose something else.

Here are some stick builders to talk to.

Painted pale:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=130780 <-- perfect example of what you should use for your first stick.

Finkle:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=90296

Byrdo
www.byrdo.org

DH020
http://forums.shoryuken.com/member.php?u=19188

Offline scottind

• Melty Waffle
  • Magic Circuits: 45
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2007, 09:02:52 PM »
Well heres my recommendations-