When's Melty on Steam?
ahaha that's no--wait, what?

Author Topic: CCCaster v3.0 Rollback Edition  (Read 220491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Luk Dehuri

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Magic Circuits: 0
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #300 on: December 04, 2014, 06:24:48 AM »
Thank you very much for the updates <3

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #301 on: December 04, 2014, 07:17:38 AM »
How could a player host if doesn't have some port open?

I see that if you put 0 in the caster when it asks for a port, the caster hosts in a random port nunmber (this number gets higher every time you host with the 0 port).
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #302 on: December 04, 2014, 07:52:04 AM »
You can get around firewalls (which need port forwarding normally) by doing UDP hole punching.
MBCaster did the same thing with the relay option. CCCaster does this automatically.

Also hosting with port 0 lets the operating system automatically select any available port.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 08:38:58 AM by Madscientist »

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #303 on: December 04, 2014, 08:20:41 AM »
Sorry if I sound like an asshole, but:

1) This UDP hole punching sound like we need a third person with a open port so the other two can connect, but what is the process for doing the UDP hole puniching?

2) After doing that, what do we do in the Cccaster?
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #304 on: December 04, 2014, 08:22:46 AM »
The UDP hole punch is all automated, I already have a server setup for this.

You won't need to do anything different, you can just host normally, and ppl can connect to the same IP address and port.

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #305 on: December 04, 2014, 08:25:52 AM »
So, basically, you have a server with certain IP and port. You'll post it here, and the players than don't have an open port connect to that IP and port of the server, pasting them in the Netplay option of the caster?
 
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 08:27:52 AM by heavymetalmixer »
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #306 on: December 04, 2014, 08:33:18 AM »
Sorry when I meant same IP address, I meant your IP address, the one that caster says you're hosting at.

Like you literally host and connect in the same way as you did before, you just don't have to port forward anymore.

Offline Choco

  • Magus Candidate
  • ****
  • Posts: 723
  • Magic Circuits: 69
  • IM MAD
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #307 on: December 04, 2014, 09:50:23 AM »
Went to sleep after successfully testing the crash-less EXE last night. Again, thanks for all your hard work, Madsci! I'm gonna play the heck out of Melty for years to come thanks to your client :3

Offline HunTaire

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Magic Circuits: 1
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #308 on: December 04, 2014, 10:11:26 AM »
The character selection button config is godlike, I'll test it this weekend. Thanks Madscientist.

Btw, this makes Viskar's MeltyLauncher outdated pretty much  :-X (unless cccaster cant recognize controls being plugged ingame).

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #309 on: December 04, 2014, 10:47:15 AM »
CCCaster does recognize when new controllers are plugged in or removed in-game, so you pretty much never need to restart the game.

Offline Erkz

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Magic Circuits: 127
  • ▄█ ' M ▒░
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #310 on: December 04, 2014, 03:39:07 PM »
Yo, mad props for all these improvements. Can't wait to try them out.
"That's fine. That too is our way of the 'Night Sword'. Advancing even over mountains and rivers of corpses."

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #311 on: December 04, 2014, 07:17:08 PM »
Yeah, I forgot to say "Thank you for your hard work dude".

Even if the "game is dead", if it weren't because of you, the game would really die, and now will grow like it was in it's AC days :D
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #312 on: December 04, 2014, 08:44:17 PM »
Through the day I've tested with some people that don't have open ports, and the caster works great. With two exceptions, both from Mexico.

The weird thing about this is that it worked with another guy that is form Mexico, so I don't think that the location matters.

Both exceptions launched a "timeout" error. Both Windows 7 x32 bits, with the MBAACC updated.
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Roy-Kr

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Magic Circuits: 18
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #313 on: December 05, 2014, 06:22:50 PM »
Godlike.

Offline Erkz

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Magic Circuits: 127
  • ▄█ ' M ▒░
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #314 on: December 05, 2014, 06:47:41 PM »
So I finally got around to trying it out and for some reason my AV freaked out pretty bad.

This may or may not be why it keeps getting deleted from file sharing sites.

Any idea what's causing the AV trigger?
"That's fine. That too is our way of the 'Night Sword'. Advancing even over mountains and rivers of corpses."

Offline TheMaster_Rahl

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 640
  • Magic Circuits: 38
  • NC Texas Tim
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #315 on: December 05, 2014, 07:15:42 PM »
So I finally got around to trying it out and for some reason my AV freaked out pretty bad.

This may or may not be why it keeps getting deleted from file sharing sites.

Any idea what's causing the AV trigger?

The launcher.exe triggers mine. Had to add an exception for it in my AV. I reported it to Avast as a false positive.

@MadSci and Pad users:

I've run into issues with pad directional inputs not being read properly.
For instance, holding 2, and getting a char that crouches, then stands, then crouches, repeat...
It seems to happen at random intervals. Holding 2 and mashing A produces 2A 5AA 2AA 5AAA (just an example).

Adjusted the deadzone from the default of 25000 down to 12500 at 500 intervals, and reproduced the issue at every deadzone setting. Same problem has been reproduced in cccasterv2.1a training mode. So I don't think its a deadzone setting issue.

Anyone have any insight into this? Any other pad users get this issue?

-NC TexasTim-
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 07:17:47 PM by TheMaster_Rahl »

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #316 on: December 06, 2014, 07:31:04 AM »
So I finally got around to trying it out and for some reason my AV freaked out pretty bad.

This may or may not be why it keeps getting deleted from file sharing sites.

Any idea what's causing the AV trigger?

The launcher.exe triggers mine. Had to add an exception for it in my AV. I reported it to Avast as a false positive.

@MadSci and Pad users:

I've run into issues with pad directional inputs not being read properly.
For instance, holding 2, and getting a char that crouches, then stands, then crouches, repeat...
It seems to happen at random intervals. Holding 2 and mashing A produces 2A 5AA 2AA 5AAA (just an example).

Adjusted the deadzone from the default of 25000 down to 12500 at 500 intervals, and reproduced the issue at every deadzone setting. Same problem has been reproduced in cccasterv2.1a training mode. So I don't think its a deadzone setting issue.

Anyone have any insight into this? Any other pad users get this issue?

-NC TexasTim-

For the moment, I don't have this input issue. And yeah, antivirus erase caster's files and block the connections, even Google Chrome doesn't let you download it. (Only this browser, I use Firefox and no problem).
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline HunTaire

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Magic Circuits: 1
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #317 on: December 06, 2014, 06:18:56 PM »
I'm having an issue with the in-game key config, for some reason I cant map any key with keyboard, even tough I can choose player side with keyboard with the directionals keys, after pressing enter to set them it simply doesnt do anything. Is anybody having this same problem?

Also, @Madscientist, can you make it so that cccaster recognizes 2 different keyboard configs? It would be awesome when keyboard mirrors happens and they could config in-game.

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #318 on: December 07, 2014, 08:00:23 AM »
Today I tested with one of the Mexico guys that can't host, and I hosted on an open port. Still no conecction.

Why? If I openned the port, then the UDP hole puniching shouldn't be part of the connection.
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline caiooa

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Magic Circuits: 14
  • aprentice button masher
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #319 on: December 08, 2014, 08:07:43 AM »
tried it with 6 different people, worked well with all of them.
But someone tried to espectate my matches and wasn't able to, he said he was locked in this screen http://puu.sh/dla1k/662b49484c.png
 Later on, i tried to broadcast training mode, and when the same person tried to espectate, he was locked at this screen http://puu.sh/dlamH/f1007b63a4.png
HellLion:" i don't use windows 7 anymore. Now i use windows 7ya"

"it's not mash, it's triple tap!"

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #320 on: December 08, 2014, 08:24:50 PM »
I'll compile a list of all the bugs in a bit, and try to fix them soon.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2014, 08:31:16 PM by Madscientist »

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1a
« Reply #321 on: December 11, 2014, 06:50:20 PM »
Another (already discovered) bug:

With some of the guys I played, when they connect (someone else is hosting), most of the times the game doesn't start automatically, it shows the resolution and control changing window. Unlike the cccaster 2.1, pressing the Ok button just crashes the game.

But here is something interesting that we discovered: After the person hosting puts the port number, the options for the mode to host appear, but is better to select the option with a number key instead of Enter or Intro, it makes bigger the probabilities that the game runs automatically. The same goes for the person connecting: instead of pressing Enter or Intro in Yes or No, is better to press 1 or 2.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 06:53:24 PM by heavymetalmixer »
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1b
« Reply #322 on: December 11, 2014, 09:02:39 PM »
@TexasTim you can try mapping the directions separately for now and see if it helps.

@heavymetalmixer Do you mean if you hit enter, the game doesn't run automatically?

Also for everyone who can reproduce their bugs, I uploaded a new version with logging here.
Please try running with that version and get me the debug.log and dll.log in the cccaster folder.
You can upload them on pastebin or wherever.

Also I fixed the Windows XP startup issue, updated first post with new version.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 04:56:00 PM by Madscientist »

Offline heavymetalmixer

  • Spellcaster
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Magic Circuits: 6
  • For the lulz!
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1b
« Reply #323 on: December 12, 2014, 06:45:44 AM »
What I tried to say is that it works automatically more often with the number keys, that with Enter or Intro.
If you don't laugh, you don't live.

Twitter: @heavymetalmixer

Offline Madscientist

  • is actually Maidscientist
  • Soul Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Magic Circuits: 79
    • View Profile
Re: CCCaster v2.1c
« Reply #324 on: December 12, 2014, 04:54:41 PM »
Minor update; plumcot showed me how to skip the initial startup window, as well as how to skip directly to the desired game mode, using some assembly code.

So automatically starting the game should be more stable now. This should fix the occasional issue heavymetalmixer was seeing.